Experts panel:

  • Portrait of Anja Dahlmann

    Anja Dahlmann

    Bio:

    Anja Dahlmann is a political scientist and is in charge of the project The International Panel on the Regulation of Autonomous Weapons at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), where her main focus is on negotiations relating to lethal autonomous weapon systems under the UN Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons.

    Motivation:

    “As part of AG Technikverantwortung, the experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies, I am particularly interested in human-machine interaction and the exercising of human control in the use of weapons.”

  • Portrait of Bruno Fichefeux

    Bruno Fichefeux

    Bio:

    Bruno Fichefeux has held a number of management positions in recent years at Airbus in Germany, France and Spain, including project-management roles on the A400M and MALE RPAS programmes. He was also involved in the integration and merger of the Airbus Defence and Space division. A committed European, Bruno Fichefeux loves working with transnational teams – which is why his current position as Head of Future Combat Air Systems, a role he has held at Airbus since 2018, is his dream job.

    Motivation:

    “I personally think it’s important to start discussions as early as possible on the responsible use of new technologies on the FCAS programme – and to apply the outcomes of these discussions over the course of the project. As the national prime contractor for FCAS, Airbus has a huge responsibility. We want to live up to this responsibility, together with the various governments and numerous other parties involved. Furthermore, I am convinced that to successfully implement a major defence-policy project like FCAS, we also need to involve representatives from society – particularly people who can bring a more critical perspective to the table. While our focus is on FCAS, the responsible use of new technologies does, of course, have an impact on numerous other areas of our lives and on the society we live in. We are therefore very keen to contribute.”

  • Portrait of Charlotte Fischer

    Charlotte Fischer

    Bio:

    Charlotte Fischer is a doctoral student in the field of security policy at the ETH Zurich. Her research focuses on the governance of artificial intelligence, especially military AI applications, and global competitive dynamics with regard to new technologies. Previously, she worked as a technology fellow at the planning staff of the Federal Foreign Office.

    Motivation:

    “It motivates me that the AG Technikverantwortung offers the opportunity to accompany the process of technology development in an interdisciplinary experts panel, to identify possible risks and to be able to counteract them early if necessary.”

  • Portrait of Dr Ulrike Franke

    Dr Ulrike Franke

    Bio:

    Dr Ulrike Franke is a Policy Fellow with the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR). Her work involves issues relating to German and European security and defence policy, especially the impact of new technologies such as drones and artificial intelligence on warfare. She has written a number of related articles that have appeared in media such as DIE ZEIT, War on the Rocks, Comparative Strategy, Aus Politik und Zeitgeschichte, and Loyal. She is also part of the team that produces the ‘Sicherheitshalber’ podcast. Dr Franke studied in France, the United Kingdom and Switzerland. She obtained a doctorate in International Relations from Oxford University, for which she won the Munich Security Conference’s John McCain Dissertation Award in 2019.

    Motivation:

    “I am part of the experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies because FCAS is Germany’s largest and most important defence project and is of particular significance for Franco-German and European collaboration. Technologies still under development and, in all likelihood, of a whole different quality to previous ones will be used in FCAS – especially in the field of artificial intelligence. It is important for the advantages and disadvantages of their use to be carefully weighed up and discussed, and I am keen to contribute to this.”

  • Portrait of Thomas Grohs

    Thomas Grohs

    Bio:

    Thomas Grohs is a qualified aerospace engineer. He is currently Chief Architect FCAS at Airbus Defence and Space, giving him a key role in the technical implementation of the overarching architecture on the FCAS project. Prior to this, he held a number of other positions at Airbus, including Chief Engineer for the Eurofighter programme and Head of Flight Test Strategy and Service in Manching.

    Motivation:

    “When developing a system like FCAS, there is always a certain degree of tension between different priorities and perspectives. On the one hand, we want to fully exploit the technology available – particularly as engineers. However, on the other hand, we also need to consider that just because something is possible from a technological point of view, it isn’t always acceptable from an ethical and legal standpoint. By participating in the experts panel, I hope to identify ethical and legal guidelines that can then be applied during the technical implementation of the FCAS programme.”

  • Portrait of Florian Keisinger

    Florian Keisinger

    Bio:

    Florian Keisinger is a historian. Having held a number of public-sector posts, he joined Airbus in 2013. Since 2018, he has been in charge of the campaign for the Future Combat Air System (FCAS).

    Motivation:

    “My goal and motivation is to incorporate the vital debate about the responsible use of new technologies into the design and development of an FCAS from the outset, and to give the associated dialogue a distinctly European dimension.”

  • Portrait of Professor Wolfgang Koch

    Professor Wolfgang Koch

    Bio:

    Lecturer and researcher Professor Wolfgang Koch is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Bonn. As Chief Scientist at the Fraunhofer Institute for Communication, Information Processing and Ergonomics (FKIE), he is a driving force behind research and technology projects relating to the digital transformation of the armed forces. He has also been head of the FKIE’s Sensor Data & Information Fusion department for many years. In the international community, he is a committed Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and represents his areas of research in the NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO).

    Motivation:

    “As a physicist and information scientist, I have a keen interest in how ethically relevant knowledge about people and human nature can be factored into the engineering design of technical systems along with instrumental knowledge on achieving goals. In the context of artificial intelligence and automation, these research interests are relevant for the development of responsible technologies for a Future Combat Air System.”

  • Portrait of Dr Ulrich Kühn

    Dr Ulrich Kühn

    Bio:

    Ulrich Kühn holds a doctorate in political science and peace research. His research focuses on transatlantic and European security, nuclear and conventional arms control, and international security institutions.

    Motivation:

    “At the meetings of the FCAS experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies, I consider it important for social and peace-promoting responsibility to be part of the development and application of new technologies.”

  • Portrait of Dr Christian Mölling

    Dr Christian Mölling

    Bio:

    Dr. Christian Mölling is the DGAP (German Council on Foreign Relations) Research Director and heads its Security and Defense program. He has been researching and advising on topics at the intersection of security, defense, industry and technology for 20 years. His professional positions range from working in peace research and human rights to providing practical support for European governments in defense policy to leading complex international research projects on European defense and armaments.

    Motivation:

    “The FCAS is the crucial armaments and capabilities project for Europe in this century. If it succeeds, Europe can expand its military and technological independence. At the same time, it can only support the defense of European values if it is compatible with European values in politics and ethics. For me it is important to mediate in this conflict of goals between ethical, political, military and industrial perspectives and to enable political decision-makers to find the best solution.”

  • Portrait of John Reyels

    John Reyels

    Bio:

    John Reyels works for Germany’s Federal Foreign Office in the area of arms control and new technologies. Previous postings abroad have taken him to Warsaw and Dar es Salaam. He studied law at the University of Freiburg and Heidelberg University, and holds a Master of Public Administration from the Harvard Kennedy School.

    Motivation:

    “Germany’s Federal Foreign Office is committed to common global standards when it comes to autonomous functions in weapon systems. Voluntary commitments by industry can be a vital aspect of its networked approach to include everyone involved in the development and use of weapon systems. The Federal Foreign Office is therefore happy to support the experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies, providing impetus from the ongoing multilateral negotiations on the military use of new technologies.”

  • Portrait of Dr Frank Sauer

    Dr Frank Sauer

    Bio:

    Frank Sauer holds a doctorate in political science. His research focuses on nuclear and conventional arms control, with a particular emphasis on the military use of artificial intelligence.

    Motivation:

    “I deem it important for technological possibilities to be explored and utilised to the full while also maintaining human control and responsibility.”

  • Portrait of Dr Hartwig von Schubert

    Dr Hartwig von Schubert

    Bio:

    Dr Hartwig von Schubert is an evangelical theologist. Specialising in political and military ethics, he was in active service as a military chaplain at the Bundeswehr Command and Staff College in Hamburg until October 2019. He still lectures there and at the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy (IFSH) in Hamburg as well as publishing articles and supporting the German Institute for Defence and Strategic Studies (GIDS) in Hamburg in his role as Senior Research Fellow.

    Motivation:

    “As theologist and chaplain I have a vision of committed citizens willing to express criticism in a politically powerful state. I supports citizens and state alike with a realistic peace ethic that balances loving one’s enemy with the use of force to uphold the law.”

  • Portrait of Dr Ellen Ueberschär

    Dr Ellen Ueberschär

    Bio:

    Ellen Ueberschär holds a doctorate in theology. Specialising in issues such as ethics, digitalisation and the transformation of society, her work involves both political and social aspects and the evangelical church.

    Motivation:

    “There is no independent civic monitoring in many areas of digitalisation. The experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies is seeking dialogue on a particularly sensitive aspect of military applications. I deems it important to conduct this critical discourse from the perspective of individual and social responsibilities, and to extend the debate on security policy beyond expert circles.”

  • Portrait of Dr Johannes Winter

    Dr Johannes Winter

    Bio:

    Johannes Winter holds a doctorate in economic geography and is a digital expert with a proven track record. He is Head of Technology at the think tank acatech (German Academy of Science and Engineering), where he was involved in the creation of the future projects Industry 4.0, Smart Service World and Autonomous Systems. His work focuses on artificial intelligence, technological sovereignty and platform economics.

    Motivation:

    “In the FCAS experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies, I consider it important for technology to be subject to the principle of responsibility and to be used to benefit people. Even in the face of increasing automation and autonomy, actions must still be guided by this principle.”

  • Portrait of Nils Wormer

    Nils Wörmer

    Bio:

    Nils Wörmer is in charge of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Department of International Politics and Security. His work focuses on Near and Middle Eastern politics, Islamist terrorism and Germany’s defence policy.

    Motivation:

    “The Konrad Adenauer Foundation addresses European arms integration issues as well as the dimension of future warfare relating to ethics and international law in various projects and formats. I would like to bring this knowledge into the discussion about an FCAS.”

  • Portrait of Carl Wrede

    Carl Wrede

    Bio:

    Carl Wrede heads the Department for Strategy and ELSA Research at the Institute for the Protection of Maritime Infrastructures, part of the German Aerospace Center (DLR). He works at the interface between applied security research and operational security for the protection of technical and socio-economic infrastructures, focusing in particular on the legality, ethical justification and social acceptance of highly autonomous systems.

    Motivation:

    “I am delighted to be able to shed light on the particular social and ethical challenges thrown up by systems of this kind as part of the FCAS experts panel on the responsible use of new technologies.”

Portrait von Gerald Funke

Brigadier General Gerald Funke, Dipl.-Ing.

German Federal Ministry of Defence Head of Section Planning and FCAS Project Leader, BMVg

Other participating experts from the Federal Ministry of Defense:

  • Jörg Rauber

    Branch Chief FCAS, BMVg
  • Marco Fey

    Assistant Branch Chief Arms Control and New Technologies, BMVg
  • Dr. Jeannine Drohla

    Assistant Branch Chief (international law, legal basis for Bundeswehr operations, constitutional references and human rights), BMVg

Experten:

  • Portrait von Anja Dahlmann

    Anja Dahlmann

    Bio:

    Anja Dahlmann ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und leitet das Projekt The International Panel on the Regulation of Autonomous Weapons bei der bei der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik. Dort befasst sie sich intensiv mit dem Verhandlungsprozess zu letalen autonomen Waffensystemen im Rahmen der VN-Waffenkonvention.

    Motivation:

    „In der AG Technikverantwortung interessiert mich besonders das Zusammenspiel von Mensch und Maschine und die Umsetzung der menschlichen Kontrolle beim Waffeneinsatz.“

  • Portrait von Bruno Fichefeux

    Bruno Fichefeux

    Bio:

    Bei Airbus hatte Bruno Fichefeux in den vergangenen Jahren in verschiedenen Führungsfunktionen in Deutschland, Frankreich und Spanien gearbeitet, unter anderem im Projektmanagement von A400M und dem MALE RPAS Programm. Er hat zudem an der Integration und Fusion der Airbus Defence and Space Division mitgewirkt. Als überzeugten Europäer begeistert ihn die transnationale Zusammenarbeit, weswegen die Leitung des FCAS Programms, die ihm bei Airbus 2018 übertragen wurde, ein Traumjob für ihn ist.

    Motivation:

    „Es liegt mir am Herzen, die Diskussion um die verantwortliche Nutzung neuer Technologien in einem FCAS so früh wie möglich zu beginnen und programmbegleitend durchzuführen. Als nationaler Prime für FCAS trägt Airbus hier eine große Verantwortung. Dieser Verantwortung möchten wir, zusammen mit den Regierungen und zahlreichen weiteren beteiligten Akteuren, gerecht werden. Darüber hinaus bin ich davon überzeugt, dass wir ein verteidigungspolitisches Großprojekt wie FCAS nicht erfolgreich realisieren können, ohne dabei auch die Gesellschaft – und insbesondere auch die kritischen Stimmen in der Gesellschaft – mitzunehmen und einzubinden. Konkret reden wir über FCAS, aber natürlich betrifft die verantwortliche Nutzung neuer Technologien auch unzählige weitere Bereiche unseres Lebens und unserer Gesellschaft. Hierzu möchten wir einen Beitrag leisten.”

  • Portrait von Sophie-Charlotte Fischer

    Sophie-Charlotte Fischer

    Bio:

    Sophie-Charlotte Fischer ist Doktorandin im Bereich Sicherheitspolitik an der ETH Zürich. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die Governance Künstlicher Intelligenz, insbesondere militärischer KI-Anwendungen, sowie globale Wettbewerbsdynamiken hinsichtlich neuer Technologien. Zuvor hat sie als Technologiefellow beim Planungsstab des Auswärtigen Amtes gearbeitet.

    Motivation:

    „Mich motiviert, dass die AG Technikverantwortung die Möglichkeit bietet, in einer interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppe den Prozess der Technikentwicklung zu begleiten, mögliche Risiken zu identifizieren und diesen gegebenenfalls frühzeitig entgegenwirken zu können.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Ulrike Franke

    Dr. Ulrike Franke

    Bio:

    Dr. Ulrike Franke ist Policy Fellow beim European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR). Sie arbeitet zu Fragen der deutschen und europäischen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik, insbesondere zum Einfluss neuer Technologien (Drohnen, Künstliche Intelligenz) auf die Kriegsführung. Zu diesen Themen hat sie u.a. in DIE ZEIT, War on the Rocks, Comparative Strategy, Aus Politik und Zeitgeschichte, Loyal etc. publiziert. Sie ist Teil des Teams, das den „Sicherheitshalber“ Podcast produziert. Dr. Franke studierte in Frankreich, Großbritannien und der Schweiz und hat einen Doktor in Internationalen Beziehungen von der Universität Oxford, für den sie 2019 den John McCain Dissertation Award der Münchener Sicherheitskonferenz erhielt.

    Motivation:

    „Ich bin Teil der AG Technikverantwortung, weil FCAS das größte und wichtigste Rüstungsprojekt Deutschlands ist und eine besondere Bedeutung für die deutsch-französische und europäische Zusammenarbeit hat. In FCAS werden Technologien zum Einsatz kommen, die sich noch in der Entwicklung befinden und die sich aller Voraussicht nach qualitativ von früheren Technologien unterscheiden – insbesondere im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz. Es ist wichtig, dass die Vor- und Nachteile ihres Einsatzes sorgfältig abgewogen und diskutiert werden. Dazu möchte ich einen Beitrag leisten.“

  • Portrait von Thomas Grohs

    Thomas Grohs

    Bio:

    Thomas Grohs absolvierte eine Ingenieursausbildung in der Fachrichtung Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik. Er ist derzeit als Chefingenieur für FCAS bei Airbus Defence and Space tätig und damit maßgeblich verantwortlich für die technische Realisierung der Gesamtarchitektur eines FCAS. Davor hatte er verschiedene andere Funktionen bei Airbus inne, unter anderem als Chefingenieur für das Eurofighter-Programm und Leiter der Flugerprobung in Manching.

    Motivation:

    „Bei der Entwicklung eines Systems wie FCAS bewegt man sich immer in einem gewissen Spannungsfeld: Einerseits möchte man, gerade als Ingenieur, die technischen Möglichkeiten voll ausschöpfen. Andererseits ist man sich bewusst, dass nicht alles, was technisch möglich erscheint, auch ethisch und rechtlich vertretbar ist. Von der Mitarbeit in der Arbeitsgruppe erhoffe ich mir ethische und rechtliche Leitlinien, die es dann in die technische Umsetzung eines FCAS einzubringen gilt.“

  • Portrait von Florian Keisinger

    Florian Keisinger

    Bio:

    Florian Keisinger ist Historiker. Nach Stationen im öffentlichen Dienst, ist er seit 2013 für Airbus tätig. Seit 2018 verantwortet er die Kampagne für das „Future Combat Air System“ (FCAS).

    Motivation:

    „Mein Ziel und meine Motivation ist es, die wichtige Diskussion über die verantwortliche Nutzung neuer Technologien von Anfang an in die Konzeption, das Design und die Entwicklung eines FCAS zu integrieren und den dazugehörigen Dialog absehbar europäisch zu gestalten.“

  • Portrait von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Koch

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Koch

    Bio:

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Koch lehrt und forscht als Professor für Informatik an der Universität Bonn. Zugleich treibt er als Chief Scientist des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Kommunikation, Informationsverarbeitung und Ergonomie FKIE Forschungs- und Technologieprojekte für die digitale Transformation der Streitkräfte voran. Im Fraunhofer FKIE leitet er überdies seit vielen Jahren die Abteilung "Sensordaten- und Informationsfusion". In der internationalen Community engagiert er sich als Fellow des Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) und vertritt seine Forschungsgebiete in der NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO).

    Motivation:

    „Als Physiker und Informatiker Koch interessiert mich brennend, wie neben instrumentellem Wissen zur Erreichung von Zielen auch ethisch relevantes Wissen um den Menschen und seine Natur in das ingenieurwissenschaftliche Design technischer Systeme einfließen kann. Im Kontext von Künstlicher Intelligenz und Automatisierung besitzen diese Forschungsinteressen Relevanz für die Entwicklung verantwortbarer Technologien für ein FCAS.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Ulrich Kühn

    Dr. Ulrich Kühn

    Bio:

    Ulrich Kühn ist promovierter Politikwissenschaftler und Friedensforscher. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf der transatlantischen und europäischen Sicherheit, nuklearer und konventioneller Rüstungskontrolle und internationalen Sicherheitsinstitutionen.

    Motivation:

    „Mir ist es wichtig, bei den Sitzungen der AG Technikverantwortung die gesellschaftliche und friedenspolitische Verantwortung bei der Entwicklung und Anwendung neuer Technologien in einem FCAS einzubringen.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Christian Mölling

    Dr. Christian Mölling

    Bio:

    Dr. Christian Mölling ist der Forschungsdirektor der DGAP und leitet das Programm Sicherheit und Verteidigung. Er forscht und berät seit 20 Jahren zu Themen im Schnittpunkt von Sicherheit, Verteidigung, Industrie und Technologie. Seine beruflichen Stationen reichen von der Arbeit in der Friedensforschung und zu Menschenrechten über die praktische Unterstützung europäischer Regierungen in der Verteidigungspolitik bis hin zur Leitung von komplexen internationalen Forschungsprojekten zur europäischen Verteidigung und Rüstung.

    Motivation:

    „Das FCAS ist das entscheidende Rüstungs- und Fähigkeitsprojekt für Europa in diesem Jahrhundert. Gelingt es, kann Europa seine militärische und technologische Eigenständigkeit ausbauen. Zugleich kann es die Verteidigung europäischer Werte nur unterstützen, wenn es mit europäischen Werten in Politik und Ethik kompatibel ist. Für mich gilt es, in diesem Zielkonflikt zwischen ethischen, politischen, militärischen und industriellen Perspektiven zu vermitteln und politischen Entscheidern zu ermöglichen,die beste Lösung zu treffen.“

  • Portrait von John Reyels

    John Reyels

    Bio:

    John Reyels arbeitet im Auswärtigen Amt im Bereich Rüstungskontrolle und Neue Technologien. Seine bisherigen Auslandsstationen waren Warschau und Daressalam. Er hat Rechtswissenschaften an den Universitäten Freiburg und Heidelberg studiert und hält einen Master of Public Administration der Harvard Kennedy School.

    Motivation:

    „Das Auswärtige Amt setzt sich für weltweite, gemeinsame Standards im Umgang mit autonomen Funktionen in Waffensystemen ein. Ein wichtiger Aspekt des von uns verfolgten vernetzten Ansatzes zur Einbindung aller an Entwicklung und Verwendung von Waffensystemen beteiligten Akteure können Selbstverpflichtungen der Industrie sein. Gerne unterstützt das AA daher die AG Technikverantwortung und bringt die aus den laufenden multilateralen Verhandlungen zur militärischen Verwendung neuer Technologien hervorgehenden Impulse in die Arbeit der Gruppe ein.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Frank Sauer

    Dr. Frank Sauer

    Bio:

    Frank Sauer ist promovierter Politikwissenschaftler. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf nuklearer und konventioneller Rüstungskontrolle – mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf der militärischen Nutzung von Künstlicher Intelligenz.

    Motivation:

    „Mir ist es wichtig, das Erforschen und Ausschöpfen technologischer Möglichkeiten mit dem Wahren von menschlicher Kontrolle und Verantwortung zu verbinden.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Hartwig von Schubert

    Dr. Hartwig von Schubert

    Bio:

    Dr. Hartwig von Schubert ist evangelischer Theologe, er war bis Oktober 2019 im aktiven Dienst als Militärdekan an der Führungsakademie der Bundeswehr in Hamburg tätig mit den Schwerpunkten Politische und Militärische Ethik. Er ist weiterhin publizistisch aktiv und lehrt am IFSH in Hamburg und auch weiterhin an der Führungsakademie und unterstützt als Senior Research Fellow das GIDS in Hamburg.

    Motivation:

    „Als Theologe und Seelsorger wünsche ich mir den kritisch engagierten Bürger in einem politisch kräftigen Staat und unterstütze beide mit einer realistischen Friedensethik zwischen Feindesliebe und einer Ethik rechtserhaltender Gewalt.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Ellen Ueberschär

    Dr. Ellen Ueberschär

    Bio:

    Ellen Ueberschär ist promovierte Theologin, beruflich unterwegs in Politik, Gesellschaft und evangelischer Kirche. Ihre Schwerpunkte sind u.a. Ethik, Digitalisierung und gesellschaftliche Transformation.

    Motivation:

    „Auf vielen Feldern der Digitalisierung fehlt eine unabhängige zivilgesellschaftliche Begleitung. Die AG Technikverantwortung sucht hier in einem besonders sensiblen Feld der militärischen Anwendungen den Austausch. Ich finde es wichtig, diesen kritischen Diskurs unter dem Blickwinkel individueller und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortlichkeiten zu führen und die sicherheitspolitische Debatte über Expertenkreise hinaus zu verbreitern.“

  • Portrait von Dr. Johannes Winter

    Dr. Johannes Winter

    Bio:

    Johannes Winter ist promovierter Wirtschaftsgeograph und ausgewiesener Digitalexperte. Er leitet den Technologiebereich beim Think Tank acatech (Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften) und war dort an der Entstehung der Zukunftsprojekte Industrie 4.0, Smart Service Welt und Autonome Systeme beteiligt. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Künstliche Intelligenz, technologische Souveränität und Plattformökonomie.

    Motivation:

    „In der AG Technikverantwortung ist mir wichtig, dass Technologie dem Prinzip der Verantwortung unterliegt und zum Wohle des Menschen eingesetzt wird. Das muss auch bei steigender Automatisierung und Autonomie handlungsleitend bleiben.“

  • Portrait von Nils Wormer

    Nils Wörmer

    Bio:

    Nils Wörmer leitet die Abteilung Internationale Politik und Sicherheit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte umfassen die Politik des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens, islamistischen Terrorismus und deutsche Verteidigungspolitik.

    Motivation:

    „Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung befasst sich in unterschiedlichen Projekten und Formaten mit der völkerrechtlichen und ethischen Dimension zukünftiger Kriegsführung und Fragen europäischer Rüstungsintegration. Dieses Wissen möchte ich in die Diskussionen um ein FCAS einbringen.“

  • Portrait von Carl Wrede

    Carl Wrede

    Bio:

    Carl Wrede ist Leiter der Abteilung Strategie und ELSA-Forschung am Institut für den Schutz maritimer Infrastrukturen des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) und arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen angewandter Sicherheitsforschung und operativer Sicherheit zum Schutz technischer und sozioökonomischer Infrastrukturen. Er beschäftigt sich in diesem Kontext insbesondere mit der rechtlichen Zulässigkeit, ethischen Vertretbarkeit und gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz von hochgradig autonomen Systemen.

    Motivation:

    „Ich freue mich, im Rahmen der AG Technikverantwortung bei FCAS die besonderen gesellschaftlichen und ethischen Herausforderungen, die ein solches System bedingt, beleuchten zu können.“

Portrait von Gerald Funke

Brigadegeneral Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Funke

Bundesministerium der Verteidigung Unterabteilungsleiter Planung und Projektleiter FCAS, BMVg

Weitere beteiligte Experten des Bundesministeriums der Verteidigung sind

  • Jörg Rauber

    Referatsleiter FCAS, BMVg
  • Marco Fey

    Referent Rüstungskontrolle Neue Technologien, BMVg
  • Dr. Jeannine Drohla

    Referentin, Völkerrecht, Rechtsgrundlagen der Einsätze der Bundeswehr, verfassungsrechtliche Bezüge, Menschenrechte, BMVg